It may be wet out there,

Standard

but it appears that the bunnies are happy to sit in it, and after the sun was out for 5 minutes the bees were out in force too.

IMGP1994

IMGP1998As mentioned before, the garden has been somewhat … ignored since I finally got my allotment, and the patch I used last year for veg was going to be a cut flower patch. Well, timing has gotten the better of me this year, and with a glut of seedlings leftover from the allotment it has become a sort of …. everything that is left patch! I have a lovely section of peas which were in very early, so are already in flower and with the promise of peas not too far off (if I can stop the rabbits escaping and eating them).
IMGP2014I also definitely overdid the sowings of celery this year, after giving away half of my pots to work colleagues, popping some on freecycle and putting two rows into my allotment, the rest are now happily situated in my little veg patch, along with the two left over leeks!
IMGP2011IMGP2012After being cruelly left in pots for the last 2 months, the celery are looking a bit pale and deathly, but a bit of sunshine and a feed will do them a world of good.
I also had thinnings from the sunflowers at the allotment, and again, couldn’t bear the thought of them ending up in the veg patch, so again (you guessed it), they have found a little home in my patch, fortunately they aren’t a giant variety, or this plan would have been scuppered.
IMGP2010

There were also two left-over courgettes, which I have bedded in with a nice splash of comfrey-juice. I am hoping that the extra space will allow them to become prize winning marrows (just thinking of all the chutney I could make with a beastly marrow is making my mouth water). I also have a row of gladioli and blue cornflowers to lighten the patch up, as well as an early sowing of beetroot.

IMGP2008After a little dead heading in the side garden, I found a suspiciously Molly- sized hole in my violas … I wonder how that got there?IMGP1997My sweet peas are also starting to look bloomin’ lovely, with a mixture of light and dark shades, and a real kick to the smell. 
IMGP2002And the prize for my favourite plant this year still goes to the Geum ‘Mrs J. Bradshaw’, not only are they gorgeous, the bees absolutely love them.
IMGP2000

And the Slug Hunter used a giant stake of wood to keep my borage up as it had decided to grow somewhat like a roller coaster this year, still lovely, and will be used to brighten up the salads soon enough.

IMGP1999

One thought on “It may be wet out there,

Leave a Reply

